

MEETING:	Full Council		
DATE:	Thursday 23 March 2023		
TIME:	10.00 am		
VENUE:	Council Chamber, Barnsley Town Hall		

MINUTES

Present		The Mayor (Councillor Tattersall)
Central Ward	-	Councillor Moyes
Cudworth Ward	-	Councillors Hayward, Houghton CBE and Wraith MBE
Darfield Ward	-	Councillors Markham, Osborne and Smith
Darton East Ward	-	Councillors Crisp, Denton and Hunt
Darton West Ward	-	Councillors A. Cave, T. Cave and Howard
Dearne North Ward	-	Councillor Bellamy
Dearne South Ward	-	Councillors Bowler, Coates and Danforth
Dodworth Ward	-	Councillors P. Fielding, W. Fielding and Wray
Hoyland Milton Ward	-	Councillors Franklin, Shepherd and Stowe
Kingstone Ward	-	Councillors Mitchell, Ramchandani and Williams
Monk Bretton Ward	-	Councillors Green and Richardson
North East Ward	-	Councillors Cherryholme, Ennis OBE and Peace
Old Town Ward	-	Councillors Lofts and Newing
Penistone East Ward	-	Councillors Barnard, Hand-Davis and Wilson
Penistone West Ward	-	Councillors Greenhough, Kitching and Lowe-Flello
Rockingham Ward	-	Councillors Lamb, Sumner and White
Royston Ward	-	Councillors Makinson, McCarthy and Webster
St. Helen's Ward	-	Councillors Leech and Platts
Stairfoot Ward	-	Councillors K. Dyson, Gillis and Shirt
Wombwell Ward	-	Councillors Eastwood, Frost and Higginbottom
Worsbrough Ward	-	Councillors Bowser, Clarke and Lodge

171. Declarations of Interests

There were no declarations of pecuniary or non-pecuniary interests under this agenda item.

172. Distinguished Service Award for Elected Members

Following consideration by a panel convened on 14 March 2023, Councillor C Wraith MBE was confirmed as recipient of the Distinguished Service Award for Elected Members.

Councillor Lamb, as Chair of the panel, advised Members the award was in recognition of Councillor Wraith's sustained and outstanding service during his period of office from 1974 to 2023, and in celebration of the positive impact that he had made to both the Council and his local community.

Members, throughout the Chamber, paid tribute to Councillor Wraith for his long and distinguished service. The Mayor presented Councillor Wraith with a glass bowl and medal in recognition of this achievement.

173. Exclusion of Public and Press

Moved by Councillor Sir Steve Houghton CBE – Seconded by Councillor Lamb; and

RESOLVED that the public and press be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following items, because of the likely disclosure of exempt information as described by the specific paragraphs of Part I of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended, as follows:-

Item Number	Type of Information Likely to be Disclosed
174	Paragraph 3
175	Paragraph 3

174. Investment in Strategic Asset (Cab.8.3.2023/14)

Councillors K. Dyson, Ennis, P. Fielding, Franklin, Frost, Green, Hayward, Houghton, Hunt, Markham, Osborne, Shirt and Williams declared non-pecuniary interests in this item due to an association with the strategic asset to be discussed and departed the Council Chamber and took no part in consideration of the item.

Moved by Councillor Lamb - Seconded by Councillor Higginbottom; and

RESOLVED:-

- i) That the background and options set out in the report be considered and approved; and
- ii) That the officer recommendations and delegations as set out in the report be approved.

175. Town Centre Reinvention (Cab.8.3.2023/15)

Moved by Councillor Frost - Seconded by Councillor Osborne; and

RESOLVED:-

- i) That the ongoing work to reinvigorate parts of the town centre around the Glass Works to enable the Council to meet its objective of achieving an inclusive thriving urban centre be noted; and
- ii) That the officer recommendations as laid out in Section 2.10 of the report be approved; and
- iii) That the delegations as set out in Section 2.11 of the report be approved.

Chair